25 of Canada's most promising young visual artists have been selected. The program represents a total commitment of more than $650,000 CAD annually to support Canadian contemporary artists

OTTAWAApril 16, 2019 – The Sobey Art Foundation and the National Gallery of Canada announced today the longlist of nominees for the 2019 Sobey Art Award, Canada’s preeminent contemporary art award. The 25 most promising young Canadian visual artists, nominated by leaders in arts communities from coast to coast to coast, have been selected to contend for the $100,000 CAD grand prize.

Established in 2002, the Sobey Art Award represents unprecedented opportunities for today’s Canadian artists, while raising the visibility of Canadian contemporary art here and abroad. The top prize of $100,000 CAD is awarded to the winner, $25,000 CAD is given to each of the four shortlisted artists, and $2,000 CAD is presented to each of the twenty longlisted artists.

In addition to monetary awards, three among the 25 artists will be selected by the Sobey Art Award jury to participate in the Sobey Art Award Residencies Program (SAARP), an international residency program ranging from three to six months.  Finally, one shortlisted artist will be selected by Fogo Island Arts to attend an annual residency.

Rob Sobey, Chair of the Sobey Art Foundation, notes: “I am thrilled by the caliber of the artists selected by the jury for this year’s longlist. The diversity of backgrounds gets more exciting every year. We are delighted to see several never-before nominated artists and are excited to learn who from Canada will participate this year in the SAARP in BerlinLondon and New York.  We are grateful that their work will help Canadians, as well as people around the world, to become better aware of the richness and vibrancy of contemporary Canadian art.”

The 2019 jury panel has selected the following 25 artists:

Philippa Jones
Eleanor King
Logan MacDonald
Ericka Walker
D’Arcy Wilson

Marie-Michelle Deschamps
Nicolas Grenier
Caroline Monnet
Celia Perrin Sidarous
Sabrina Ratté

Stephanie Comilang
Patrick Cruz
Brendan Fernandes
Laurie Kang
Erdem Taşdelen

Alana Bartol
Catherine Blackburn
Curtis Talwst Santiago
The Ephemerals

Andrew Dadson
Rochelle Goldberg
Gabrielle L’Hirondelle Hill
Anne Low
Carmen Papalia

The artists gain valuable exposure to leading art professionals in Canada and abroad, as their portfolios are reviewed and judged by the jury, chaired by National Gallery of Canada’s Senior Curator of Contemporary Art, Josée Drouin-Brisebois. The 2019 jury is composed of  Peter Dykhuis, Director/Curator, Dalhousie Art Gallery, for the Atlantic Provinces; Jo-Ann Kane, Curator, National Bank Collection, for the Quebec region; Swapnaa Tamhane, Independent Curator, Artist, and Writer, for the Ontario region; Lindsey Sharman, Curator, Art Gallery of Alberta, for the Prairies and the North region; Nigel Prince, Executive Director, Contemporary Art Gallery, for the West Coast and Yukon; and international juror, Henriette Bretton-Meyer, Curator, Kunsthal Charlottenborg, Copenhagen, Denmark.

“I am so proud of the 2019 Sobey Art Award jury for its work on a compelling and provocative longlist of Canadian artists,” said Drouin-Brisebois. “This year’s list is certain to stimulate curiosity and debate. Through its international residency program, exhibition of the finalists, and its cash prizes, the SAA has an invigorating impact on the artists recognized by the jury for their innovation and creativity. The National Gallery is looking forward to partnering with the Art Gallery of Alberta to bring an inspiring exhibition for our first time to this part of the country.”

The five shortlisted artists will be announced June 12 and the international residencies recipients will be revealed on September 18. The Sobey Art Award finalists’ exhibition will be on view from October 5, 2019 to January 5, 2020 at the Art Gallery of Alberta in Edmonton. The grand prize winner of the 2019 Sobey Art Award will be announced at a gala hosted by the Art Gallery of Alberta on November 15, 2019. The Fogo Island Arts residency winner will be announced in the weeks following the gala.

For more information, please click the following hyperlinks:

About the Sobey Art Award process
The National Gallery of Canada first accepts nominations for the Sobey Art Award from recognized agents and institutions. The jury panel oversees the selection process for the award, as well as for the residency program. From the list of nominated artists, the jurors create a longlist of 25 artists – five artists from each of five designated regions in Canada. The panel will then choose one representative from each region to be included on the national shortlist to be announced in June and featured in the 2019 Sobey Art Award exhibition.

About the Sobey Art Award 
Since its launch, the Sobey Art Award has profiled over 230 Canadian artists through its longlist process. For recipients, the Sobey Art Award has become a mark of distinction that has steered the artists toward national and international recognition. Past top award winners are Brian JungenJean-Pierre Gauthier, Annie Pootoogook, Michel de BroinTim LeeDavid AltmejdDaniel BarrowDaniel Young and Christian Giroux, Raphaëlle de Groot, Duane LinklaterNadia Myre, Abbas Akhavan, Jeremy Shaw and Ursula Johnson. The 2018 Sobey Art Award Winner, Kapwani Kiwanga, was announced on November 14, 2018 at the National Gallery of Canada in Ottawa.

About the Sobey Art Foundation
The Sobey Art Foundation was established in 1981 with a mandate to carry on the work of entrepreneur and business leader, the late Frank H. Sobey, to collect and preserve representative examples of 19th- and 20th-century Canadian art. The Art Foundation has assembled outstanding examples from Canadian Masters such as Cornelius KrieghoffTom Thomson and J. E. H. MacDonald. The collection is on view in the former home of Frank Sobey and his wife Irene in Pictou County, Nova Scotia.

About the National Gallery of Canada          
The National Gallery of Canada is home to the most important collections of historical and contemporary Canadian art. The Gallery also maintains Canada’s premier collection of European Art from the 14th to the 21st centuries, as well as important works of American, Asian and Indigenous Art and renowned international collections of prints, drawings and photographs. In 2015, the National Gallery of Canada established the Canadian Photography Institute, a global multidisciplinary research centre dedicated to the history, evolution and future of photography. Created in 1880, the National Gallery of Canada has played a key role in Canadian culture for well over a century. Among its principal missions is to increase access to excellent works of art for all Canadians. For more information, visit gallery.ca and follow us on TwitterFacebookYouTube and Instagram.

About the Art Gallery of Alberta
The Art Gallery of Alberta is a centre of excellence for the visual arts in Western Canada, connecting people, art and ideas. The AGA is focused on the development and presentation of original exhibitions of contemporary and historical art from Alberta, Canada and around the world. The AGA also offers a full-range of art education and public programs. Founded in 1924, the Art Gallery of Alberta is the oldest cultural institution in Alberta, and the only museum in the province solely dedicated to the exhibition and preservation of art and visual culture. For more information visit www.youraga.ca.