Billy Talent, Dallas Smith, and July Talk Confirmed as Next Group of Performers as Broadcast Expands to Two-and-a-Half Hours for THE 2017 JUNO AWARDS, April 2 on CTV

A new block of tickets have been released for THE 2017 JUNO AWARDS broadcast.

TORONTO, March 16, 2017 /CNW/ – CTV and The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS) announced today that punk-rockers Billy Talent, platinum-selling country star Dallas Smith, and indie quintet July Talk are confirmed to perform on THE 2017 JUNO AWARDS broadcast. These artists join previously announced performers, alt-rockers Arkells, electronic group A Tribe Called Red, 2016 JUNO Award winner Alessia Cara, contemporary storyteller Ruth B, Canadian Music Hall of Fame inductee Sarah McLachlan, multi-platinum singer-songwriter Shawn Mendes, and alt-folk indie group The Strumbellas.

With 10 of Canada’s biggest music acts now descending on Ottawa for THE 2017 JUNO AWARDS, and with additional performer and presenter announcements still to be made, CTV and CARAS confirmed today the broadcast will expand to two-and-a-half hours for the first time in five years. This announcement also comes on the heels of THE 2016 JUNO AWARDS winning the Canadian Screen Award for Best Music Program or Series last week.

Co-hosted by iconic rocker Bryan Adams and megastar comedian Russell Peters, Canada’s most exciting night in music airs live in 4K from the Canadian Tire Centre in Ottawa on CTV and CTV GO on Sunday, April 2 at 6:30 p.m. ET (visit to confirm local broadcast times).

Seven-time JUNO award winners Billy Talent are nominated for two awards in 2017, including Group of the Year and Rock Album of the Year, while guitarist Ian D’sa is also nominated for the Jack Richardson Producer of the Year award for his work on the band’s album. This year’s performance will be the group’s fifth JUNO performance. Dallas Smith is a two-time JUNO award winner, having received one award as the lead singer of the band Default, and one for his solo work. July Talk won the JUNO in 2015 for Alternative Album of the Year. Both Smith and July Talk are first time broadcast performers and are nominated for one award each this year, including Country Album of the Year and Alternative Album of the Year respectively.

A new block of tickets have been released for THE 2017 JUNO AWARDS broadcast. Tickets are available starting at $59 through the Canadian Tire Centre Box Office, by phone at 1-877-788-3267 and online at

The JUNO Awards has partnered with Plus 1 so that $1 from every ticket is donated to MusiCounts, helping to ensure that children and youth across Canada have access to musical instruments. Plus 1 is a non-profit that partners with touring artists to facilitate a $1 add-on from every concert ticket to go to a cause the artist partner believes in.

THE 2017 JUNO AWARDS is produced by Insight Productions in association with CTV and The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS). Executive Producers are John Brunton and Barbara Bowlby for Insight Productions, Allan Reid and Mark Cohon for CARAS, and Randy Lennox for Bell Media. Lindsay Cox is Executive Producer and Supervising Producer, Insight Productions. Corrie Coe is Senior Vice-President, Independent Production, Bell Media. Mike Cosentino is Senior Vice-President, CTV and Specialty, Bell Media. Randy Lennox is President, Bell Media.

Premier Partners of The 2017 JUNO Awards: CARAS acknowledges the financial support of FACTOR, the Government of Canada and of Canada’s Private Radio Broadcasters, Radio Starmaker Fund, Ottawa 2017, the Province of Ontario, the Ontario Media Development Corporation, Ottawa Tourism, Google Play Music and TD Bank Group.

The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences/L’académie canadienne des arts et des sciences de l’enregistrement (CARAS) is a not-for-profit organization created to preserve and enhance the Canadian music industry and to contribute toward higher artistic and industry standards. The main focus of CARAS is the exploration and development of ongoing opportunities to showcase and promote Canadian artists and music through vehicles such as The JUNO Awards and other year-round initiatives. For more information on the 46th Annual JUNO Awards or The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS) please visit

About CTV
CTV is Canada’s #1 private broadcaster. Featuring a wide range of quality news, sports, information, and entertainment programming, CTV has been Canada’s most-watched television network for the past 15 years in a row. CTV is a division of Bell Media, Canada’s premier multimedia company with leading assets in television, radio, digital, and Out-of-Home. Bell Media is owned by BCE Inc. (TSX, NYSE: BCE), Canada’s largest communications company. More information about CTV can be found on the network’s website at

Web Links:
Official JUNO Awards website:
CTV’s JUNO Awards website:
CTV website:

Social Media: