Saturday, October 20, 2018

Saskatoon Lawyer Announces Launch of Follow-up Book in Sci-Fi Trilogy

"Lysandra" will be published through the author's publishing concern and released on October 30.

Ten to watch at the Toronto International Festival of Authors

There are more than 60 events over the course of the 11-day Toronto International Festival of Authors, now in its 39th annual iteration.

New report provides insight into the status of women in the arts in Canada

This report provides an important synthesis of existing research on the status of women in the arts in Ontario and Canada.

Leonard Cohen’s poem ‘Kanye West is Not Picasso’ gets social media buzz

The poem is a cheeky point-counterpoint narrative surrounding the boastful nature of the hip-hop star, who once declared onstage: “I am Picasso.”

New book about Humboldt Broncos crash was released against families’ wishes

Barry Heath, a former Saskatchewan coroner and veterinarian, wrote Humble Beginnings of the Humboldt Broncos and the 2017-2018 Team based on media interviews with the families ... 29 families did not endorse the book.

Esi Edugyan, Patrick deWitt shortlisted for $100K Giller Prize

Rick Mercer to host Nov. 19 prize gala


The program has attracted some of Canada’s best showrunners to lead the story room as its Executive Producer in Residence, including Dennis Heaton, Avrum Jacobson, Michael MacLennan, Graeme Manson, Karen Walton and Brad Wright.

‘I still stand behind my decision to publish,’ says editor who resigned over Ghomeshi...

Ian Buruma cites threat of boycott from advertisers for resignation from New York Review of Books

Freelancers Unite to Battle Low Pay and Bad Contracts

Members of five of Canada's largest freelancer associations have banded together to fight against stagnant pay rates and contracts that demand the right to reuse their work for no further pay.

Jack Webster Foundation Announces 2018 Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement and Bill Good Award Recipients

Western Canada's preeminent journalism awards today announced that Clive Jackson is the 2018 Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award recipient and Donna Logan is the 2018 Bill Good Award recipient.