It was a record-setting night for Schitt's Creek.

Who triumphed with a trophy (or seven)?

The TV industry’s shiniest night of the year, a.k.a. the Primetime Emmy Awards, looked much different this year, given the never-ending pandemic. The 2012 and 2016 host, Jimmy Kimmel, was literally fired up to emcee the festivities again, this time from the mostly vacant Staples Center in L.A., with winners accepting awards remotely, virtually, and digitally.

The early story of the night came courtesy of our Canadian friends, as in Pop TV’s riches-to-rags comedy Schitt’s Creek, which nabbed 15 nominations. Stars Dan Levy, Eugene Levy, Catherine O’Hara, and Annie Murphy all triumphed in their acting categories, while Dan truly had an impressive night, triumphing in the writing and directing categories as well. To top off the night, Schitt’s Creek claimed the Outstanding Comedy Series, making it an unprecedented seven trophies in a row.


Once the Schitt’s sweep ended, HBO held its own trophy parade. First, dystopic superhero drama Watchmen — which entered the night with a series-leading whopping 26 nominations (and 7 wins at the Creative Arts Emmys) — nabbed four more awards, including Outstanding Limited Series, and acting trophies for Regina King and Yahya Abdul-Mateen II. Armed with 18 nominations (and three wins at the Creative Arts Emmys), Succession claimed four more awards, including Outstanding Drama, an acting statue for Jeremy Strong, and in writing and directing. Zendaya (Euphoria) and Mark Ruffalo (I Know This Much is True) also added to the network’s trophy coffers.

To see who else had a shiny, happy night — and who didn’t (The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, though it took home four Creative Arts Emmys) — scroll through the full list of winners from the 72nd Emmy Awards.

Best Comedy

“Schitt’s Creek” (Pop)


Best Drama

“Succession” (HBO)


Best Limited Series

“Watchmen” (HBO)


Best Actress, Comedy

Catherine O’Hara, “Schitt’s Creek”


Best Actor, Comedy

Eugene Levy, “Schitt’s Creek”


Best Actress, Drama

Zendaya, “Euphoria”


Best Actor, Drama

Jeremy Strong, “Succession”


Best Actress, Limited Series or TV Movie

Regina King, “Watchmen”


Best Actor, Limited Series or TV Movie

Mark Ruffalo, “I Know This Much Is True”


Supporting Actress, Comedy

Annie Murphy, “Schitt’s Creek”


Supporting Actor, Comedy

Daniel Levy, “Schitt’s Creek”


Supporting Actress, Drama

Julia Garner, “Ozark”


Supporting Actor, Drama

Billy Crudup, “The Morning Show”


Supporting Actress, Limited Series or a Movie

Uzo Aduba, “Mrs. America”


Supporting Actor, Limited Series or Movie

Yahya Abdul-Mateen II, “Watchmen”


*Television Movie

“Bad Education” (HBO)


*Variety Sketch Series

“Saturday Night Live” (NBC)


Variety Talk Series

“Last Week Tonight With John Oliver” (HBO)


Reality Competition Program

“RuPaul’s Drag Race” (VH1)


*Reality Host

RuPaul, “Drag Race”


*Structured Reality Program

“Queer Eye” (Netflix)


*Unstructured Reality Program

“Cheer” (Netflix)


*Guest Actress, Comedy

Maya Rudolph, “Saturday Night Live”


*Guest Actor, Comedy

Eddie Murphy, “Saturday Night Live”


*Guest Actress, Drama

Cherry Jones, “Succession”


*Guest Actor, Drama

Ron Cephas Jones, “This Is Us”


*Documentary or Nonfiction Series

“The Last Dance” (ESPN)


*Documentary or Nonfiction Special

“The Apollo” (HBO)


*Animated Program

“Rick and Morty” (Adult Swim)


Writing for a Comedy Series

Daniel Levy, “Schitt’s Creek” (“Happy Ending”)


Writing for a Drama Series

Jesse Armstrong, “Succession” (“This Is Not for Tears”)


Writing for a Limited Series, Movie or Drama Special

Damon Lindelof and Cord Jefferson, “Watchmen” (“This Extraordinary Being”)


Directing for a Comedy Series

Andrew Cividino and Daniel Levy, “Schitt’s Creek” (“Happy Ending”)


Directing for a Drama Series

Andrij Parekh, “Succession” (“Hunting”)


Directing for a Limited Series, Movie or Drama Special

Maria Schrader, “Unorthodox”


*Directing for a Variety Series

Don Roy King, “Saturday Night Live” (“Host: Eddie Murphy”)

*Awards presented during the Creative Arts Emmy ceremonies from Sept. 14 through Sept. 18.

Sara Aridi writes about film, television and the arts for the Culture section. @_SaraAridi

A version of this article appears in print on

Sept. 21, 2020, Section C, Page 6 of the New York edition with the headline: 2020 Emmy Award Winners.